Wednesday, 1 May 2013

What is the Southern African Customs Union (SACU)?

SACU has released a new paper explaining what they are and what they do:
The Southern African Customs Union is the oldest customs union in the world;
having been established in 1910. It consists of five Member States: Botswana,
Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland.
SACU plays a key role in Southern Africa, particularly for smaller member states who are (somewhat) dependent on SACU revenue. The recent turmoil in Swaziland, for example, is partly as a result of a dramatic drop in SACU revenue. Find out more here and here.

No comments:

Post a Comment