Thursday, 3 March 2011

Knowing stuff about Africa: COMESA

COMESA? Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) is the evolution of a preferential-trade area aimed at stimulating trade in the region. 
COMESA (as defined by its Treaty) was established 'as an organisation of free independent sovereign states which have agreed to co-operate in developing their natural and human resources for the good of all their people' and as such it has a wide-ranging series of objectives which necessarily include in its priorities the promotion of peace and security in the region.
The body has 19 member states with a combined population of nearly 400 million. A free trade area (FTA) exists across 11 member states: Djibouti, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Sudan, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Burundi and Rwanda. The body aims to achieve a customs union by 2012

Member states are: 
  1. Burundi
  2. Comoros
  3. DR Congo
  4. Djibouti
  5. Egypt
  6. Eritrea
  7. Ethiopia
  8. Kenya
  9. Libya
  10. Madagascar
  11. Malawi
  12. Mauritius
  13. Rwanda
  14. Seychelles
  15. Sudan
  16. Swaziland
  17. Uganda
  18. Zambia
  19. Zimbabwe
(But not Tanzania? Weird)

SADC overlap: Zimbabwe, Zambia, Swaziland, Seychelles, Malawi, Madagascar, Mauritius, DR Congo
SACU overlap: Swaziland

1 comment:

  1. Eastern and Southern Africa Common Market Free Trade Area of ​​the 19 Member States from Libya to Zimbabwe. COMESA was established in December 1994, replacing the existence of a preferential trade area since 1981.

    east africa common market