Wednesday, 5 January 2011

Knowing stuff about Africa: SADC

Not so long ago, I wrote about my own determination to learn more about African History. I'm beginning to think other people should also learn stuff about Africa. Plus, it doesn't hurt me at all to go in search of interesting facts about my continent. 

First up: "Who is in SADC?"

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) was started in 1980 as a loose association of 9 majority-ruled Southern African countries. Since then it has grown and changed a lot. More detailed history and information on the common agenda of SADC can be found on the SADC site here. The 15 current member states (to respond to a glaring gap in the knowledge of this past week :-P) are:

Angola, Botswana, DRC,
Lesotho, Madagascar,
Malawi, Mauritiaus,
Mozambique, Namibia,
Seychelles, Swaziland,
South Africa, Tanzania,
Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Sudan, as is obvious from this map, is not part of the SADC. Info, analysis and commentary on Sudan and the upcoming referendum can be found on African Scene here.

No comments:

Post a Comment